Leaders

Our board of directors and management team democratically lead our co-op together.

Linden Hills Co-op uses policy based management to ensure success. The ends policies, or the long-term vision and goals of the co-op, are integrated into four main initiatives. We provide and promote healthful choices for members and shoppers. We provide, use, and promote earth-friendly, sustainable products. We encourage activism on sustainability, health and nutrition. We build community within Linden Hills and neighboring communities.

Nine board directors, each with three-year terms, govern the board at Linden Hills Co-op. Terms rotate so that approximately one third of the seats on the board are open each year.

Guided by the ends policies of the co-op, the job of the board is to:

  • Set long-range goals and make strategic decisions about the co-op’s future
  • Ensure sound management of the co-op’s resources
  • Safeguard the interests of our member-owners

To fulfill these responsibilities, the board focuses on these key areas: 

  • Hiring, supervising and evaluating the co-op’s general manager
  • Maintaining and upholding the co-op’s policies
  • Planning for the co-op’s future
  • Understanding the needs and desires of member-owners
  • Approving capital and operating budgets
  • Recruiting new directors to ensure a well-qualified board

Any member of the co-op, in good standing, who is not currently an employee of the co-op or has a household member already on the board, may apply to be on the board of directors. It is the board’s responsibility to recommend a slate of candidates for each year’s election, which is held at the annual member meeting in October.The board can be reached via email: board@lindenhills.coop

All members are welcome to attend monthly board meetings. The board requests that they receive notice prior to attending, as a meal will be provided. Meetings are usually on the on third Wednesday of each month at 6 pm. 

2015 | 2016 Elected Board of Directors

 

Alex Slichter, president

Sarita Parikh, vice president

Matthew Larson, treasurer

Scott Devens, secretary

John Hatzung

Lindsey Powell

Emily Paul

Sam Sundermeyer

Wendy Ponte

Board Meetings:

Our board of directors meet the second Wednesday of each month and any co-op member is welcome to attend. Please email or call the co-op three days in advance at board@lindenhills.coop or 612.279.2451

Staff Leaders

Department managers support the daily operations of the co-op. Each department leader reports to our store store director, whose overall performance is overseen by the co-op’s board of directors.  Every role at the co-op is critical and valuable; our management team is here to facilitate the success of each individual employee and of the co-op as a whole. 

Doug Peterson, store manager

Doug came to Linden Hills Co-op from Central Co-op in Seattle. He moved to Southwest Minneapolis with his wife and 3-year-old daughter.

His passions are family and riding bikes (and combining the two as often as possible). He grew up on the west coast, backpacking and camping in the mountains of California.

At Central Co-op, he held several positions including floor manager, where he worked with the store manager to make Central Co-op the best store in Seattle. It was in that position he discovered his passion for the co-op grocery business model. Doug is excited to be here at LHC and to continue to grow our business. If you see Doug around the store, make sure you say hello! He’s eager to get to know our members.

Linden Hills Co-op managers

Doug Peterson

store director

dpeterson@lindenhills.coop 

 

Jolene Parker
operations manager

jparker@lindenhills.coop

 

Megan Petrowski

human resources manager

mpetrowski@lindenhills.coop

 

Deborah Kermeen

finance manager

dkermeen@lindenhills.coop

 

Madeleine Isaacson

marketing manager

misaacson@lindenhills.coop

 

Emily Kaster

health and body care manager

ekaster@lindenhills.coop

 

Evan Britzius

grocery manager

ebritzius@lindenhills.coop

 

Nolan Greene

produce manager

ngreene@lindenhills.coop

 

Chris True

customer service manager

ctrue@lindenhills.coop

 

 Charlie Shandley

meat and seafood manager

cshandley@lindenhills.coop

 

Perry Jurek

prepared foods manager

pjurek@lindenhills.coop